International Universities in the UAE

International Universities in the United Arab Emirates

Western institutions of higher education are developing a presence in the United Arab Emirates. Currently, the United Arab Emirates is home to the following American and Canadian campuses and centers:

New York University Abu Dhabi (NYUAD)

Founded in 2010, NYUAD "... is a research university with a fully integrated liberal arts and science college," with divisions including Arts & Sciences, Engineering, Science, Social Science, and Multidisciplinary.

The American University in Dubai (AU-Dubai)

The AU-Dubai is a private, non- sectarian institution of higher learning founded in 1995, and is accredited by the Commission on Colleges (COC) of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) to award Bachelor's and Master's degrees.

AU-Dubai has the following undergraduate schools/departments: School of Architecture, Art and Design; School of Arts and Sciences; School of Business Administration; Mohammed Bin Rashid School for Communication; School of Education; School of Engineering.

AU-Dubai has an enrolment of about 2,700 students with 94 different nationalities.

Canadian University of Dubai (CU-Dubai)

The Canadian University of Dubai (CUD) was founded in 2006, and offers a Canadian based curriculum in the heart of Dubai.

The school has the following faculties: The School of Business Administration (BBA/MBA); The School of Engineering, Applied Sciences & Technology; The School of Architecture & Interior Design; The School of Environment & Health Sciences; The School of Liberal Arts & Sciences.

The Canadian partners of CU-Dubai are: Brock University; Lakehead University; University of New Brunswick; University of Ontario Institute of Technology; Athabasca University; Niagara College; Douglas College; and Centennial College. Other partners are Lawrence Technological University and Griffith College.

American University of Sharjah (AUS)

The American University of Sharjah (AUS) was founded in 1997 by His Highness Sheikh Dr. Sultan Bin Mohammad Al Qassimi, Member of the Supreme Council of the United Arab Emirates and Ruler of Sharjah. AUS is an independent, not-for-profit coeducational institution. AUS is accredited by the Commission on Higher Education of the Middle States Association of Colleges and School, in the USA.

AUS operates in English. AUS is accredited by the Commission on Higher Education of the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools.

AUS offers 25 majors and 52 minors at the undergraduate level, and 14 Master's degrees programs. Their schools are: College of Architecture, Art and Design; College of Arts and Sciences; College of Engineering; School of Business and Management.


Information is subject to change. Always contact the school directly for specific program information.

Most Popular